Chronology of the States of Matter and Phase Transitions

1895 Pierre Curie discovers that induced magnetization is proportional to magnetic field strength.
1911 Heike Kammerlingh Onnes discovers superconductivity.
1912 Pieter Debye derives the T-cubed law for the low temperature heat capacity of a nonmetallic solid.
1925 Ernst Ising presents the solution to the one-dimensional Ising model and models ferromagnetism as a cooperative spin phenomenon.
1933 Walter Meissner and R. Ochsenfeld discover perfect superconducting diamagnetism.
1942 Hannes Alfven predicts magnetohydrodynamic waves in plasmas.
1944 Lars Onsager publishes the exact solution to the two-dimensional Ising model.
1957 John Bardeen, Leon Cooper, and Robert Schrieffer develop the BCS theory of superconductivity.
1958 Rudolf Mossbauer finds the Mossbauer crystal recoil effect.
1972 Douglas Osheroff, Robert Richardson, and David Lee discover that helium-3 can become a superfluid.
1974 Kenneth Wilson develops the renormalization group technique for treating phase transitions.
1987 Alex Muller and Georg Bednorz discover high critical temperature ceramic superconductors.