Chronology of Particle Physics Technology

1896 Charles Wilson discovers that energetic particles produce droplet tracks in supersaturated gases.
1908 Hans Geiger and Ernest Rutherford invent the Geiger counter.
1911 Charles Wilson finishes a sophisticated cloud chamber.
1934 Ernest Lawrence and Stan Livingston invent the cyclotron.
1945 Edwin McMillan devises a synchrotron.
1952 Donald Glaser develops the bubble chamber.
1968 Georges Charpak and Roger Bouclier build the first multiwire proportional mode particle detection chamber.